top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChithra Warrier

How I fell in love with BTS

For years, I've seen my friends go nuts over BTS and wondered why. It's just another band. Yet all around me I saw people so into this band it was intriguing. I had listened to a couple of songs and thought ok they are good. And still I didn't get why they were so loved.


A few months ago I got a new friend who was an army. And she introduced me to BTS properly. The more I got to know about them the more I started loving them. More than their music, I loved watching their interviews. They seemed like such nice people. Despite being the most popular band in the world right now, I noticed how down to earth they were. I loved how they openly talked about their personal struggles and how they overcame it to reach where they are now. They were not just singers they were such an inspiration.


When I first talked with my friend about them I remember what she said. "I knew about them for some time and didn't get what the big deal was. And then one day it just clicked and I thought what have I been doing until now." And I thought that was an exaggeration. Well, I guess I owe her an apology now because that is exactly how I felt yesterday night when I finally got round to listening to a list of songs she had sent me some time ago. I watched a live performance of the song We Are Bulletproof. And to say that I cried would be an understatement. I was sobbing by the time it was over. And not just the first time. Even now, after listening to it for over fifty times, I can't listen to it without tearing up a little bit. I felt exactly as she has described. Why have I never listened to this before? What was I even doing not listening to this! And now I truly understood why people were swooning over them. This song made me feel things I had never felt before. It seemed to give me a sort of strength, a feeling that I cannot describe in words.


I think it was RM, the leader of BTS who once described them as seven normal boys from Korea. And I thought how wrong that was. They are seven extraordinary men who rules the hearts of the younger generations. The fact that they managed to reach so many people from all corners of the world with songs in a language that most people don't understand just proves how beautiful their music is. Their songs talk about the struggle to live in a judgemental society. The song Love Myself hit me so hard it felt like a literal punch to the gut. The lines of the song were just so true and the music was so beautiful. Even though I have listened to only about five songs, I'm already falling. Today, they are a symbol of hope, strength and love for all armies, an integral part of our lives. And yes, I'm in love.





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A little time to sleep

Her eyes closed on its own But she shook herself awake Just one more page She repeated to herself Her voice quivered and broke Her hands shook as she smoothed it out She whispered the words again Word

Beauty

The line between sky and sea blurs Blue to orange to velvety black The waves crash, relentless The sand takes the brunt of it I won't be here tomorrow Probably never again But the waves will still cra

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page